Club chairman Kevin wins age percentage handicap race.

*Club chairman Kevin Slattery (above) won the age percentage handicap race.

Report by Don Hale. Photos Steve Jeffrey. Statistics by John Hatton.

Club chairman Kevin Slattery was the overall winner of the recent NWRRC club handicap age percentage analysis race, with Kay Hatton finishing in second place, and Sean Butler third. Kevin (aged 67) recorded an amazing 77.69%, with Kay (58) 75.64%, and Sean (63) 72.14%.

*Kay Hatton finished second in the club handicap age percentage race.

Run from Llandudno’s West Shore to the former WW2 gun site and back over a challenging four-mile plus course including a section of the Great Orme, the special Christmas race attracted twenty-two club athletes, and statistician John Hatton compared the actual finishing times and the handicap time applied, against the ages, resulting in an percentage analysis of their performances.

*Race official and statistician John Hatton (left) with veteran athlete Don Hale.

It made for some very interesting comparison, with the initial race winner Steve Mason (47), the first man back, dropping down to fourth place overall, and previous second place runner Steve Poupart (45) 63.94%, moving to tenth with Karl Morris (40) 62.14%, who was third overall, dropping down to thirteenth place based on John’s age statistics.

*Steve Mason was the first man home in the club handicap race but finished fourth overall on his age percentage performance.

*The NWRRC team at the recent club handicap race at West Shore.

Full handicap results, including overall position, age and percentage: (1) Kevin Slattery (67) 77.69%, (2) Kay Hatton (58) 75.64%, (3) Sean Butler (63) 72.14%, (4) Steve Mason (47) 71.78%, (5) Stuart Culverhouse (50) 70.75%, (6) Steve Roberts (57) 67.51%, (7) Iwan Evans (44) 66.58%, (8) Don Hale (69) 65.63%, (9) Hannah Griffith (48) 64.66%, (10) Steve Poupart (45) 63.94%, (11) Kevin Higgins (60) 63.17%, (12) Rob Fryer (67) 62.90%, (13) Karl Morris (40) 62.14%, (14) Jamie Tharme (43) 61.94%, (15) Richard Scamans (46) 60.76%, (16) Helen Hannam (46) 59.19%, (7) Mike Hayton (71) 58.77%, (18) Mia Morris (16) 56.61%, (19) Daniel Owens & Tony Price Jones (37) 53.84%, (20) Sue Smith (56) 53.49%, (21) Rachel Morris (41) 49.48%, and (22) Mike Smith(62) 49.34%.


*The full statistical review of the club handicap race compiled by John Hatton is available on the jpeg/pdf attachment: 


Popular posts from this blog

TV spotlight on Conwy’s belated birthday parkrun - plus other tourists on the run..

Covid restrictions prevented Conwy parkrun from celebrating their 7th anniversary.


International success for Elizabeth Driscoll who was 1st lady at Falkland Islands parkrun.

Kay Hatton was the pick of the trio at Tatton Park 10k - plus other athletes on the run...

Troy Kettle wins North Wales “Best Young Athlete of the Year" award.

Age Cat honours for GOG Triathlon Club at a very hot Nick Beer 10k race

Rohan’s relay boost for Children’s Cancer Charities


Festive feast of colour at Conwy Parkrun - plus other athletes on the run...